Ask a Librarian
(U.S. Eastern Time)
Mon–Thu: 8 a.m. to midnight
Fri: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat–Sun: 2 p.m. to 10 p.m.
PUBH 8050 Required Course Readings
The links are for required readings found in the Walden databases ONLY. For all other readings, see your course resources.
Enter your myWalden user name and password at the prompt.
Averina, M., Nilssen, O., Brenn, T., Brox, J., Arkhipovsky, V., & Kalinin, A. (2005). Social and lifestyle determinants of depression, anxiety, sleeping disorders and self-evaluated quality of life in Russia—A population-based study in Arkhangelsk. Social Psychiatry and Psychiatric Epidemiology, 40(7), 511–518.
Baum, F. (2008). The Commission on the Social Determinants of Health: Reinventing health promotion for the twenty-first century? Critical Public Health, 18(4), 457–466.
Bezruchka, S. (2010). Health equity in the USA. Social Alternatives, 29(2), 50–56.
Bezruchka, S., Namekata, T., & Sistrom, M. (2008). Interplay of politics and law to promote health: Improving economic equality and health: The case of postwar Japan. American Journal of Public Health, 98(4), 589–594.
Biggs, B., King, L., Basu, S., & Stuckler, D. (2010). Is wealthier always healthier? The impact of national income level, inequality, and poverty on public health in Latin America. Social Science & Medicine (1982), 71(2), 266–273.
Coovadia, H., Jewkes, R., Barron, P., Sanders, D., & McIntyre, D. (2009). Health in South Africa 1—The health and health system of South Africa: Historical roots of current public health challenges. Lancet, 374(9692), 817–834.
Cota, B., & Allen, P. (2010). The developmental origins of health and disease hypothesis. Pediatric Nursing, 36(3), 157–167.
Dankwa-Mullan, I., Rhee, K., Williams, K., Sanchez, I., Sy, F., Stinson, N., & Ruffin, J. (2010). The science of eliminating health disparities: Summary and analysis of the NIH summit recommendations. American Journal of Public Health, 100(S1), S12–S18.
Dinca-Panaitescu, S., Dinca-Panaitescu, M., Bryant, T., Daiski, I., Pilkington, B., & Raphael, D. (2011). Diabetes prevalence and income: Results of the Canadian Community Health Survey. Health Policy, 99(2), 116–123.
Dummer, T., & Cook, I. (2008). Health in China and India: A cross-country comparison in a context of rapid globalization. Social Science & Medicine, 67(4), 590–605.
Feeny, D., Kaplan, M., Huguet, N., & McFarland, B. (2010). Comparing population health in the United States and Canada. Population Health Metrics, 8, 8–18.
Frieden, T. (2010). A framework for public health action: The health impact pyramid. American Journal of Public Health, 100(4), 590–595.
Gehlert, S., Sohmer, D., Sacks, T., Mininger, C., McClintock, M., & Olopade, O. (2008). Targeting health disparities: A model linking upstream determinants to downstream interventions. Health Affairs, 27(2), 339–349.
Gele, A., & Harsløf, I. (2010). Types of social capital resources and self-rated health among the Norwegian adult population. International Journal for Equity in Health, 9, 8.
Gluckman, P., Hanson, M., & Mitchell, M. (2010). Developmental origins of health and disease: Reducing the burden of chronic disease in the next generation. Genome Medicine, 2(2), 14.
Jones, C., Jones, C., Perry, G., Barclay, G., & Jones, C. (2009). Addressing the social determinants of children’s health: A cliff analogy. Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved, 20(4 Suppl), 1–12.
Jones, C. (2010). The moral problem of health disparities. American Journal of Public Health, 100(S1), S47–S51.
Kanjilal, B., Mazumdar, P., Mukherjee, M., & Rahman, M. (2010). Nutritional status of children in India: Household socio-economic condition as the contextual determinant. International Journal for Equity in Health, 9(1), 19–31.
Kirkpatrick, S., & McIntyre, L. (2009). The Chief Public Health Officer’s report on health inequalities: What are the implications for public health practitioners and researchers? Canadian Journal of Public Health. Revue Canadienne De Santé Publique, 100(2), 93–95.
Kruk, M., Porignon, D., Rockers, P., & Van Lerberghe, W. (2010). The contribution of primary care to health and health systems in low- and middle-income countries: A critical review of major primary care initiatives. Social Science & Medicine (1982), 70(6), 904–911.
Koh, H., & Nowinski, J. (2010). Health equity and public health leadership. American Journal of Public Health, 100(S1), S9–S11.
Kyobutungi, C., Egondi, T., & Ezeh, A. (2010). The health and well-being of older people in Nairobi’s slums. Global Health Action, 3, 45–53.
Larkin, H. (2010). Managing population health. H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, 84(10), 28–32.
Miller, G., Chen, E., & Cole, S. (2009). Health psychology: Developing biologically plausible models linking the social world and physical health. Annual Review of Psychology, 60, 501–524.
Mukherjee, S., Haddad, S., & Narayana, D. (2011). Social class related inequalities in household health expenditure and economic burden: Evidence from Kerala, south India. International Journal for Equity in Health, 10(1), 1–13.
Norman, R., Schneider, M., Bradshaw, D., Jewkes, R., Abrahams, N., Matzopoulos, R., & Vos, T. (2010). Interpersonal violence: An important risk factor for disease and injury in South Africa. Population Health Metrics, 8, 32–43.
Perlman, F., & Bobak, M. (2008). Socioeconomic and behavioral determinants of mortality in post transition Russia: A prospective population study. Annals of Epidemiology, 18(2), 92–100.
Ray, R., Gornick, J., & Schmitt, J. (2010). Who cares? Assessing generosity and gender equality in parental leave policy designs in 21 countries. Journal of European Social Policy, 20(3), 196–216.
Rudan, I., Kapiriri, L., Tomlinson, M., Balliet, M., Cohen, B., & Chopra, M. (2010). Evidence-based priority setting for health care and research: Tools to support policy in maternal, neonatal, and child health in Africa. PLoS Medicine, 7(7), 1–5.
Shelton, J., Cassell, M., & Adetunji, J. (2005). Is poverty or wealth at the root of HIV? Lancet, 366(9491), 1057–1058.
Shim, J. (2010). Cultural health capital: A theoretical approach to understanding health care interactions and the dynamics of unequal treatment. Journal of Health and Social Behavior, 51(1), 1–15.
Shonkoff, J., Boyce, W., & McEwen, B. (2009). Neuroscience, molecular biology, and the childhood roots of health disparities: Building a new framework for health promotion and disease prevention. JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association, 301(21), 2252–2259.
Spiegel, J., & Yassi, A. (2004). Lessons from the margins of globalization: Appreciating the Cuban health paradox. Journal of Public Health Policy, 25(1), 85–110.
Stuckler, D., King, L., & McKee, M. (2009). Mass privatization and the post-communist mortality crisis: A cross-national analysis. Lancet, 373(9661), 399–407.
Tang, S., Meng, Q., Chen, L., Bekedam, H., Evans, T., & Whitehead, M. (2008). Tackling the challenges to health equity in China. Lancet, 372(9648), 1493–1501.
The PLoS Medicine Editors. (2010). Social relationships are key to health, and to health policy. PLoS Med, 7(8), e1000334.
Vafaei, A., Rosenberg, M., & Pickett, W. (2010). Relationships between income inequality and health: A study on rural and urban regions of Canada. Rural and Remote Health, 10(2), 1430.
van Doorslaer, E., Masseria, C., & Koolman, X. (2006). Inequalities in access to medical care by income in developed countries. CMAJ: Canadian Medical Association Journal, 174(2), 177–183.
Venkatapuram, S. (2010). Global justice and the social determinants of health. Ethics & International Affairs, 24(2), 119–130.
Walberg, P., McKee, M., Shkolnikov, V., Chenet, L., & Leon, D. A. (1998). Economic change, crime, and mortality crisis in Russia: Regional analysis. British Medical Journal, 317(7154), 312–318.
Health Sciences Recommended Databases
MEDLINE with Full Text
This database provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more with full text content available for over 1450 titles and indexing dating back to the 1950's. It is a necessary resource to search when doing research in any of the health sciences.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL provides indexing for more than 1,400 journal titles and full text access to over 760. Coverage dates back to 1982.
Cochrane Collection Plus
A comprehensive collection of databases from the Cochrane Library. This search interface provides simultaneous access to the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and Health Technology Assessments (HTA) with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Methodology Register. These are some of the highest levels of evidence, economic summaries and methodologies in the health sciences.
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science)
This resource provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 8,060 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 173 disciplines. It offers bibliographic citations and cited references and is useful as a citation analysis tool. This database does contain full text.
ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research Datasets
ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more
Health Sciences Suggested Resources
Top 5 Journals
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AHRQ's mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans.
National Institutes of Health
NIH's 27 institutes and agencies provide access to a wealth of information, statistics and updates on most health topics.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.