This is the "Identify Nursing Theories & Theorists" page of the "Nursing Theory & Theorists" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Theory & Theorists   Tags: nursing.theory, theory  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.waldenu.edu/nursingtheory Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis
Identify Nursing Theories & Theorists Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide serves as a portal to materials covering nursing theories and theorists. This includes ebooks, databases and websites.

Top Recommended Resources for Nursing Theories & Theorists

Contemporary Nursing Knowledge : Analysis and Evaluation of Nursing Models and Theories

Pivotal Moments in Nursing : Leaders Who Changed the Path of a Profession, Volume I

Pivotal Moments in Nursing : Leaders Who Changed the Path of a Profession, Volume II

 

Search CINAHL for Articles on Theorists & Theories

To identify articles relating to a nursing theory or theorist you will need to search CINAHL Plus with Full Text

View a short demonstration of searching CINAHL for articles related to nursing theory and theorists

Link to video demo of CINAHL search on theory

1. Access the CINAHL Plus with Full Text  database and log in.

2. You will need to use the CINAHL Headings browser in the CINAHL database as shown below.

CINAHL Headings link

3. In the browse box enter the theorist's last name. For instance for Neuman Systems Model, enter: "Neuman" and click the Browse button. "Neuman Systems Model" will be the first on the list of suggestions (also notice that it finds "Newman Health Model" as a suggestion as well). 

4. Check the box next to the Subject in the list. If there is an option to Explode in the right column, you may also choose this box.

5. A green Search Database button will appear in the right side of the screen. Select this button to run your search on the selected subject.

6. On the results page you will need to limit to full text and peer reviewed by selecting the limits in the left margin.

You should now have full text articles related to your theorist/theory.

A Member of the Laureate International Universities Network

  

 

Library Hours (U.S. Eastern Time)

Mon–Thu: 8 a.m. to midnight
Fri: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat–Sun: 2 p.m. to 10 p.m.

 

Library Phone Number
800-930-0914

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip