The links are for required readings found in the Walden databases ONLY. For all other readings, see your course resources.
Enter your myWalden user name and password at the prompt.
Belloni, F. P., & Beller, D. C. (1976). The study of party factions as competitive political organizations. Political Research Quarterly, 29(4), 531–549. This article is linked to on the Week 4 Resources page.
Blair, R. (2001). Managing urban growth: Can the policy tools approach improve effectiveness? Public Works Management and Policy, 6(2), 102–113.
Brown, W. (2006). American nightmare: Neoliberalism, neoconservatism and de-democratization. Political Theory, 34(6), 690–714.
Boin, A., & Christensen, T. (2008). The development of public institutions: Reconsidering the role of leadership. Administration and Society, 40(3), 271–297.
Boyd, E. (1997). American federalism, 1776 to 1997: Significant events.
Brink, D. (2007). Mill’s moral and political philosophy. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Spring 2010 ed.).
Chambers, S. (2009). Rhetoric and the public sphere: Has deliberative democracy abandoned mass democracy? Political Theory, 37(3), 323–350.
Chand, V. (1997). Democratisation from the outside in: NGO and international efforts to promote open elections. Third World Quarterly, 18(3), 543–561.
Cornell University Library. (2009). Distinguishing scholarly journals from other periodicals.
Deleon, L., & Deleon, P. (2002). The democratic ethos and public management. Administration and Society, 34(2), 229–250.
Foley, J. R., & Polanyi, M. (2006). Workplace democracy: Why bother? Economic and Industrial Democracy, 27(1) 173–191.
Gilley, B. (2009). Is democracy possible? Journal of Democracy, 20(1), 113–127.
Grant, J. (1990). Sub-governments, policy communities and networks: Refilling the old bottles? Journal of Theoretical Politics, 2(3), 319–338.
Gunn, C. (2000). Markets against economic democracy. Review of Radical Political Economics, 32(3), 448–460.
Imperial, M. T. (2005). Using collaboration as a governance strategy: Lessons from six watershed management programs. Administration and Society, 37(3), 281–320.
John, P., & Cole, A. (2000). When do institutions, policy sectors, and cities matter? Comparing networks of local policy makers in Britain and France. Comparative Political Studies, 33(2), 248–268.
Kiun, E. H. (1996). Analyzing and managing policy processes in complex networks: A theoretical examination of the concept policy network and its problems. Administration and Society, 28(1), 90–119.
Krane, D., & Koenig, H. (2005). The state of American federalism, 2004: Is federalism still a core value? Publius, 35(1), 1–40, 188.
Lempert, R. J., Popper, S. W., Min, E. Y., & Dewar, J. A. (Eds). (2009). Shaping tomorrow today: Near-term steps towards long-term goals.
Levine, D. P. (2003). The ideal of diversity in organizations. American Review of Public Administration, 33(3), 278–294.
Levy, J. (2009). Not so novus an ordo: Constitutions without social contracts. Political Theory, 37(2), 191–217.
The Library of Congress: Thomas. (n.d.). Federalist Paper No. 10.
The Library of Congress: Thomas. (n.d.). Federalist Paper No. 51.
The Library of Congress: Thomas. (n.d.). Federalist Paper No. 78.
Lovett, F. (2006). Republicanism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Spring 2010 ed.).
Machan, T. (2005). The right to private property. In Internet encyclopedia of philosophy.
Maeda, K., & Nishikawa, M. (2006). Duration of party control in parliamentary and presidential governments: A study of 65 democracies, 1950 to 1998. Comparative Political Studies, 39(3), 352–374.
McCoy, C. S. (2001). Federalism: The lost tradition? Publius, 31(2), 1–14.
Maguire, M. (2008). Online debates in Oshkosh: Using the blog to promote an engaged electorate. Journal of Information Technology and Politics, 5(3), 327–341.
Post, R. (2006). Democracy and equality. The ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, 603(1), 24–36.
Prewitt, K. (1965). Political socialization and leadership selection. The ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, 361(1), 96–105. This article is linked to on the Week 7 Resources page.
Ranney, A., & Kendall, W. (1951). Democracy: Confusion and agreement. Political Research Quarterly, 4(3), 430–439.This article is linked to on the Week 10 Resources page.
Ritchie, A. C. (1936). The Constitution and the states. The ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social Science,185(1), 16–21.
Rohr, J. A. (2007). Ethics and comparative administration. Public Integrity, 10(1), 65–74.
Rohr, J. A. (1982). The Constitution in public administration: A report on education. The American Review of Public Administration, 16(4), 429–431.
Roust, K., & Shvetsova, O. (2007). Representative democracy as a necessary condition for the survival of a federal constitution. Publius, 37(2), 244–261.
Sandfort, J., Selden, S. C., & Sowa, J. E. (2008). Do government tools influence organizational performance?: Examining their implementation in early childhood education. American Review of Public Administration, 38(4), 412–438.
Santas, G. (2007). Plato's criticisms of democracy in the Republic. Social Philosophy and Policy, 24(2), 70–89.
Schneider, A., & Ingram, H. (1990). Behavioral assumptions of policy tools. The Journal of Politics, 52(2), 510–529.
Selden, S. C., & Selden, F. (2001). Rethinking diversity in public organizations for the 21st century: Moving toward a multicultural model. Administration and Society, 33(3), 303–329.
Shafie, D. (2008). Participation in e-rulemaking: Interest groups and the standard-setting process for hazardous air pollutants. Journal of Information Technology and Politics, 5(4), 399–410.
Stich, B., & Miller, C. R. (2008). Using the advocacy coalition framework to understand freight transportation policy change. Public Works Management Policy, 13(1), 62–74.
Thatcher, M. (1998). The development of policy network analyses: From modest origins to overarching frameworks. Journal of Theoretical Politics, 10(4), 389–416.
The United Nations. (1948). The Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. (n.d.). The Constitution of the United States: A Transcription.
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. (n.d.). The Declaration of Independence: A transcription.
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. (n.d.). Magna Carta and Its American Legacy.
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. (n.d.). The Virginia Declaration of Rights.
Uzgalis, W. (2007). John Locke. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Spring 2010 ed.).
Victor, J. N. (2007). Strategic lobbying: Demonstrating how legislative context affects interest groups’ lobbying tactics. American Politics Research, 35(6), 826–845.
Waldron, J. (2004). Property. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Spring 2010 ed.).
Wedel, J. R., Shore, C., Feldman, G., & Lathrop, S. (2005). Toward an anthropology of public policy. The ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, 600(1), 30–51.
Wiatr, J. J. (1988). Introduction: Political leadership from a comparative perspective. International Political Science Review, 9(2), 91–94. This article is linked to on the Week 7 Resources page.
Wilke, C. (2005). War v. justice: Terrorism cases, enemy combatants, and political justice in U.S. courts. Politics and Society, 33(4), 637–669.