Research Databases Walden Library Catalog Course Readings Find An Article Ask a Librarian
This is the "Searching Basics" page of the "Keyword Searching: Finding Articles on Your Topic" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Keyword Searching: Finding Articles on Your Topic   Tags: database.skills, library.skills  

Last Updated: Mar 5, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.waldenu.edu/keyword Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Searching Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why are Keywords Important?

The library databases are not like Google. Google looks for each of your search terms individually.

The databases can only word match. Databases look for the exact words and phrases you type in. 

This means you must:

  • break your topic into individual keywords.
  • brainstorm the words an author might use.
  • avoid phrases.

The great benefit of keyword searching is the precision. You can develop focused, precise searches in a library database, and get exactly what you need. It just takes some practice to become an expert searcher.

See the Keyword Search Strategy tab to learn how.

 

Understand the Database Search Page

Databases may be confusing when you first try using them. But understanding how databases work is essential to growing your research skills.

There are three search components in most databases:

  • Search Boxes
  • Limiters
  • Field Searching

The following video will help you learn the basics of database searching.

Understand Databases video demonstration

 

Zero Results?

Finding zero or very few results?

There probably are results on your topic, but you need to try different keywords to find them.

See the Keyword Search Strategy tab for help picking keywords and understanding how to use them in a database.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip