Research Databases Walden Library Catalog Course Readings Find An Article Ask a Librarian
This is the "Google Scholar & Full Text" page of the "Google Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Google Scholar   Tags: library.skills  

Last Updated: Mar 5, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.waldenu.edu/googlescholar Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Google Scholar & Full Text Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Watch Connecting Google Scholar to Walden Library

Connect Google scholar to Walden Library

(58 sec)

Google Scholar Help

These guides from Google may help you learn to use Google Scholar.

What is Google Scholar?

It's a specialized Google search that only finds results from academic publishers and institutions.

Top uses of Google Scholar:

But be aware! Google Scholar has disadvantages.



 

Google Scholar Results

Watch this video to learn how to understand your Google Scholar Results.

Google Scholar search results

(2 min 17 sec) Transcript

 

Full Text from Google Scholar

Google Scholar puts links to full text  to the right of the search results:

Links to the free online full text and to the Walden Library's full text

Scholarly resources are expensive, so very few items are available for free via Google Scholar. Most free items are posted to non-profit or university websites as PDF, PowerPoint, or HTML documents.

Clicking the article title will usually take you to a publisher's page, where you will see a request for payment.

You can access the full text of millions of items by connecting Google Scholar to the Walden Library. This will give you a direct link to Full-Text@Walden Library.

What about clicking the article title?

Most of the time this will take you to the publisher's website, which will ask for payment to see the full text.

There are a few occassions when it will take you to the full text. This is most common with items from ERIC or articles that are reproduced as HTML text on a website. Some publishers also offer selected full text articles for free as a marketing tool.

Bottom Line: if there is no full text link to the right, it's worth giving the title link a try.

 

Connect Google Scholar to the Walden Library

Google Scholar can be configured to let you know when articles it finds are available in the Walden Library.  The best part is, it is easy to set up!

Simply access Google Scholar, click on the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner of the screen, and then click on the "Scholar Preferences" link. .

 

After accessing the preferences page, scroll down and look for the library search box.

 

Enter "Walden" (without quotes) into the search box, and then click "Find Library."

You will be presented with Walden Library options, which you can select.

 

After you've selected the Walden options, scroll up to the top of the screen and select "Save Preferences."

Now, when you perform searches, anything appearing in the results list that can also be found in the Walden Library will have a direct link taking you to the full text.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip